Allegiance Award Winners

Elizabeth Burns, Javier Lesaca Win 2021 Allegiance Awards

In recognition of their years of service and leadership, the California Landscape Contractors Association presented Elizabeth Burns and Javier Lesaca with its Allegiance Award, the association’s most prestigious honor.

The award, which is given only to a green industry professional who has been a member of the association for a minimum of 15 years and who has had a significant effect on the industry, was presented during the association’s annual Leadership Conference, held on-line on January 19, 2022.

Each Allegiance Award winner has served on at least three of the association’s committees, task forces or boards for a total of 10 years. They are the driving force of many of the association’s most innovative and substantial programs and efforts.

Elizabeth Burns

Elizabeth Burns, Allegiance Award winner

Beth joined CLCA in 2004 as a member of the San Fernando Valley and Los Angeles/San Gabriel Valley chapters.

Over time, her participation in the association grew. She served on the Landscape Industry Show committee for 11 years, three of those years as chair. She also has a decade of service on the Events Committee, three years as chair. She has been a driving force in CLCA’s Trophy Awards program, a celebration of excellence in landscaping.

Beth has also served on CLCA’s state Board of Directors, as Director of Events and 2019 President. She has been a member of task forces for the Hispanic Contractors, CLCA Building and Dues Restructuring. She is a tireless supporter of CLCA, the green industry and women-owned businesses. She is the owner of Zone 24 Landscaping, an award-winning landscape company in Torrance.

“Her passion is bringing together members of California’s green industry to learn, share and make lifelong friends around the trade we all are blessed to have made our livelihood,” CLCA President Megan Rios said while presenting the award.

Javier Lesaca

Javier Lesaca, Allegiance Award winner

Javier joined CLCA in 1992 and became a founding member of the modern-day Kern County Chapter, which is a thriving, successful and prosperous chapter. Over the years, he has held every chapter role.

At the state level, he has served as a member of the Chapter Presidents Council, the Director of Membership and eventually CLCA state President. He currently serves on the CLCA Insurance Solutions Board of Directors.

He is widely praised for developing and mentoring future leaders for the association. He is the owner of Lesaca Landscape Company, an award-winning landscape company in Bakersfield. As a CLCA Life member, he continues to demonstrate leadership and integrity to promote the landscape industry.

“Success is not always defined as being the biggest, best, or wealthiest. Success is the status of having achieved and accomplished an aim or objective. Javier has accomplished success through leadership in his allegiance to the CLCA,” CLCA Megan Rios said while presenting the award.

Previous Winners

Frank Niccoli
Tom Noonan
Jerrie Beard
Mike Baron
Marianne Estournes
Eric Watanabe
Wendy Emeterio
Chris McNairy
Henry Buder
Dave Norred
Pete Dufau
Barbara Alvarez
Jon Singley
Robert Crudup
Scott McGilvray
Gary Vallen
Gordon Larson
Peter Estournes
Allen Chariton
Tom Ellington
Dave Penry
Cindy Strauss
Jay Tripathi
Fred Hanker
Jon Alsdorf
Anthony Bertotti
Mary Cohen
John Redmond, Jr.
Awarded posthumously
Charles Nunley
Lebo Newman
Richard Cohen
Timothy Nord
Richard Angelo clt
Herbert S. Frank
Awarded posthumously
Mickey Strauss
Barry Cohen
Nelson Colvin
Roger Fiske