Regular Members of the Year

Alex Salazar Named 2022 Member of the Year

The California Landscape Contractors Association named Alex Salazar its 2022 Regular Member of the Year, honoring his professionalism and leadership.

The award, which is given annually to a contractor member who is involved with a significant project or accomplishment during the current year, was presented during the association’s annual Leadership Conference, which has held in Sacramento January 24-25, 2023.

Alex is the Business Development Manager for Southern California’s family-owned Groundcare Landscape Company. In 2022, he served on the Ways & Means Committee and as CLCA’s Secretary/Treasurer. He has served as president for the Los Angeles/San Gabriel Valley Chapter, and his company is active in three chapters: Los Angeles/San Gabriel Valley, San Fernando Valley and Kern County.

While presenting the award, CLCA President Evan Moffitt praised Alex for his tremendous leadership on both the state and chapter level. Quoting those who nominated him for the recognition, Evan said that fellow members have recognized Alex as ”a detailed, dedicated, and diligent volunteer leader. His wisdom and expertise were appreciated during the Ways & Means work in 2022 and his work as the state treasurer. The board can consistently expect active participation and engaged care from him.”

“He has gone far above and beyond to support the CLCA at both the state and local level,” he said.

CLCA Regular Members of the Year

2022 Alex Salazar
2021 Andy Simpson
2020 Eric Santos, clt
2019 Eric Watanabe
2018 Frank Niccoli
2017 Regan Barry
2016 Peter Estournes, clp, clia
2015 Tim Hendricks
2014 Bruce Courter
2013 Gordon Larson
2012 Bob Wade
2011 Chuck Carr
2010 Ron Zaccaro clt
2009 Bill Schnetz clp
2008 Peter Estournes clp, clia
2007 Jon R. Alsdorf clt
2006 Bill Schnetz clp
2005 Robert Wade clp, clia
2004 Scott McGilvray & Jay Tripathi clp
2003 Mark Swink clt
2002 John Mohns clp
2001 Jeffrey W. Sheehan
2000 Jerry Allison & Pete Navarro
1999 Barbara Alvarez
1998 David Penry
1997 Frank Manocchio
1996 Jay Tripathi clp
1995 Richard Jark
1994 James P. Everett
1993 Jon Ewing
1992 Kent England
1991 Anthony Bertotti clp, clt
1990 Barry Cohen
1989 Scott McGilvray
1988 John Nishizawa
1987 Ken Gerlach
1986 Ron Deitz
1985 Wayne DuBoise
1984 Jerry Lambert
1983 Jon Alsdorf clt
1982 Richard Cohen
1981 Roger Fiske
1980 Mickey Strauss
1979 Martin Rippens
1978 Don Napolitano
1977 James Keener
1976 Efraim Donitz
1975 Frank Peccorini
1974 Frank Hirata
1973 Harold Jones
1972 Walter Bray
1971 Bert CeDillos
1970 Harry Broderick
1969 Robert L. Curtis
1968 David Dorward
1967 Richard Sapien
1966 Robert Kaplanek
1965 Jay Anders
1964 Tom Matsuoka
1963 Herbert Frank
1962 Warren Purdy
1961 Keith Card