Allegiance Award Winners

Frank Niccoli, Tom Noonan Win 2020 Allegiance Awards

In recognition of their years of service and leadership, the California Landscape Contractors Association presented Frank Niccoli and Tom Noonan with its Allegiance Award, the association’s most prestigious honor.

The award, which is given only to a green industry professional who has been a member of the association for a minimum of 15 years and who has had a significant effect on the industry, was presented during the association’s annual Leadership Conference, held on-line on January 13, 2021.

Each Allegiance Award winner has served on at least three of the association’s committees, task forces or boards for a total of 10 years. They are the driving force of many of the association’s most innovative and substantial programs and efforts.

Frank Niccoli

Frank served as CLCA’s first-ever Director of Resource Management. During his four two-year terms, CLCA developed the CLCA Water Management Certification program. This EPA WaterSense recognized program received the prestigious Power of A award from the American Society of Association Executives.

Frank has also excelled in a variety of chapter roles and served as CLCA’s 2013 President. In 2018, he was named Member of the Year.

“By his peers, he is recognized as a long-time supporter of the industry, diligent and focused on the future of the CLCA’s best interest,” CLCA President Paul Hansen said while presenting the award.

He has devoted countless hours to the revision of the association’s Landscape Data Manual and Landscape Standards Book.

At heart, Frank is a teacher. At Foothill College, where he is the Horticulture Department director, he founded the CLCA student club in 2002 to better connect students to industry.

He built a 25-module teaching center at Foothill College patterned after CLCA’s Certified Landscape Technician program to teach students real-life hands-on learning. He is currently working with 12 other colleges interested in building their own learning centers.

Frank re-wrote and spearheaded CLCA’s How to Make Money with Your Landscape Business series and has presented many other seminars, workshops and webinars. He draws rave reviews from students and green industry professionals for his practical “been there, built that” attitude.

Tom Noonan

Tom served as the association’s Associate Member Director in 2010-11 and was a dedicated member of the Landscape Industry Show Committee, where he was active until the show sunset after the 2019 event. He continues to represent CLCA on the NorCal Landscape and Nursery Show steering committee.

“By his peers, he is recognized as a ‘faithful, supportive participant of our industry trade shows and resource management.’ He is always praised for this “activism for CLCA’s efforts in water use efficiency,” CLCA President Paul Hansen said while presenting the award. One member has said that Tom’s “tenure in the volunteer leadership has given voice to representing CLCA in the best possible light and professionalism.”

He chaired the Resource Management Committee and later served as Director of Resource Management as CLCA grew the Water Management Certification Program. This EPA WaterSense recognized program received the prestigious Power of A award from the American Society of Association Executives.

Tom is a Water Management Specialist at Ewing Irrigation & Landscape Supply, and his passion and expertise for the efficient use of water has been of immense benefit to CLCA’s programs.

He also maintains certifications from the Irrigation Association as both a Landscape Irrigation Auditor and Irrigation Designer, lending industry credibility to his passion in designing complex irrigation control systems for projects throughout Northern California.

In 2012, his peers named him a Member of the Year, applauding him for his broad support of the association and efforts to promote water efficiency.

Previous Winners

Jerrie Beard
Mike Baron
Marianne Estournes
Eric Watanabe
Wendy Emeterio
Chris McNairy
Henry Buder
Dave Norred
Pete Dufau
Barbara Alvarez
Jon Singley
Robert Crudup
Scott McGilvray
Gary Vallen
Gordon Larson
Peter Estournes
Allen Chariton
Tom Ellington
Dave Penry
Cindy Strauss
Jay Tripathi
Fred Hanker
Jon Alsdorf
Anthony Bertotti
Mary Cohen
John Redmond, Jr.
Awarded posthumously
Charles Nunley
Lebo Newman
Richard Cohen
Timothy Nord
Richard Angelo clt
Herbert S. Frank
Awarded posthumously
Mickey Strauss
Barry Cohen
Nelson Colvin
Roger Fiske