Regular Members of the Year

Sal Hernandez Named 2023 Member of the Year

The California Landscape Contractors Association named Sal Hernandez, MBA, ICPI, its 2023 Regular Member of the Year, honoring his professionalism and leadership.

The award, which is given annually to a contractor member who is involved with a significant project or accomplishment during the current year, was presented during the association’s annual Leadership Conference, which has held in San Marcos January 16-17, 2024.

Sal actively uses social media to connect with clients and potential clients and to grow his company, Pacific Breeze Landscape, Inc. He was applauded for his efforts to share these skills to grow the association’s membership and online presence.

As the winner of several Beautification Awards in the Orange County chapter and in the state Trophy Awards, he also harnesses the power of mainstream media to promote green industry professionalism. He has been featured on TV on Season 2 of HGTV’s Hidden Potential with Jasmine Roth.

He is currently the state Membership Director and is on the CLCA state Board of Directors. He served as Orange County Chapter President in 2021-2022.

While presenting the award, CLCA President Tom Sweeney, CWM, praised Sal for his tremendous leadership on both the state and chapter level. Quoting those who nominated him for the recognition, Tom said that fellow members have recognized Sal as ”someone who can lead the association and the green industry into a better future.

“He is a valued asset of CLCA and is starting to get results on membership going into the future with a new era of media, social media, and influence,” Tom announced while presenting the award.

“He has gone far above and beyond to support the CLCA at both the state and local level,” he said.

CLCA Regular Members of the Year

2023 Sal Hernandez, MBA, ICPI
2022 Alex Salazar
2021 Andy Simpson
2020 Eric Santos, clt
2019 Eric Watanabe
2018 Frank Niccoli
2017 Regan Barry
2016 Peter Estournes, clp, clia
2015 Tim Hendricks
2014 Bruce Courter
2013 Gordon Larson
2012 Bob Wade
2011 Chuck Carr
2010 Ron Zaccaro clt
2009 Bill Schnetz clp
2008 Peter Estournes clp, clia
2007 Jon R. Alsdorf clt
2006 Bill Schnetz clp
2005 Robert Wade clp, clia
2004 Scott McGilvray & Jay Tripathi clp
2003 Mark Swink clt
2002 John Mohns clp
2001 Jeffrey W. Sheehan
2000 Jerry Allison & Pete Navarro
1999 Barbara Alvarez
1998 David Penry
1997 Frank Manocchio
1996 Jay Tripathi clp
1995 Richard Jark
1994 James P. Everett
1993 Jon Ewing
1992 Kent England
1991 Anthony Bertotti clp, clt
1990 Barry Cohen
1989 Scott McGilvray
1988 John Nishizawa
1987 Ken Gerlach
1986 Ron Deitz
1985 Wayne DuBoise
1984 Jerry Lambert
1983 Jon Alsdorf clt
1982 Richard Cohen
1981 Roger Fiske
1980 Mickey Strauss
1979 Martin Rippens
1978 Don Napolitano
1977 James Keener
1976 Efraim Donitz
1975 Frank Peccorini
1974 Frank Hirata
1973 Harold Jones
1972 Walter Bray
1971 Bert CeDillos
1970 Harry Broderick
1969 Robert L. Curtis
1968 David Dorward
1967 Richard Sapien
1966 Robert Kaplanek
1965 Jay Anders
1964 Tom Matsuoka
1963 Herbert Frank
1962 Warren Purdy
1961 Keith Card